Authors Anonymous (Kanner, 2014)

Authors Anonymous (Ellie Kanner, 2014)

Therefore encourage one another and build each other up, just as in fact you are doing.  –1 Thessalonians 5:11

I fully expected this to be awful, so I was pleasently surprised when it was truly humorous and uninsulting. While the fake documentary approach is becoming a bit overused, it works here because they truly stick to it. Side characters question the presence of the cameras, attempts are made to privatize conversations; it’s just an all-around good effort to maintain the documentary atmosphere. And while the humor isn’t overly intelligent or real-life, it’s not crude or forced either. I laughed, I enjoyed myself, I rolled my eyes at the awful ending. But, hey, it’s far and away better than the few high selling comedies that I’ve had the pain of sitting through.  5.75/10

authors anonymous

Leave a comment