71 Fragments of a Chonology of Chance (Haneke, 1994)

71 Fragments of a Chronology of Chance (Michael Haneke, 1994)

Precious in the sight of the Lord is the death of his saints.  –Psalm 116:15

One of Haneke’s most highly regarded films according to a number of people that I trust, but I just don’t get it. I think it’s safe to say at this point that Haneke is just not for me. It seems that he is always so concerned with seeming self-important that his films have the tone of complete unimportance. I’ve never been a huge fan of films that follow a ton of different people and try to connect them at the end. Even with Haneke’s subtle approach to their connection and his avoidance of making it a big dramatic spectacle, there is still not enough time to give every character enough exposure. I didn’t feel involved; I didn’t more than mildly intrigued; I only felt appreciation for his handling of this type of film. I wanted more than that.  6/10

71_Fragments_of_a_Chronology_of_Chance

Leave a Reply

