The Undying Monster (Brahm, 1942)

The Undying Monster (John Brahm, 1942)

Fathers shall not be put to death because of their children, nor shall children be put to death because of their fathers. Each one shall be put to death for his own sin.  –Deuteronomy 24:16

I have sad news. I wasn’t paying attention and accidentally watched my 2000th movie without planning. I had hoped to peruse my entire collection and choose the one that had the highest possibility of ending up as one of my new favorites. Instead, I picked on that was short because I didn’t have a lot of time, and so it was that my 2000th movie was ho-hum.

A beautiful depiction of 19th century England shot at a beautiful estate in a countryside on the edge of the water. Heavily focused on nighttime indoor shots, the sparse lighting makes for an eerie atmosphere. Unfortunately, so many hokey scary movie techniques are unnecessary used and they detract from said setting – a creepy butler, overbearing music, ridiculously fake screaming, and lots of red herrings of course! I did enjoy when the detectives were called on the scene and were seemingly mocking everyone for thinking the monster could be real, but after a while I started wondering whether they were actually mocking them or if they believed them and were just giving really bad performances. Overall, this could have been interesting if not so chalked full of stereotypes.  6.75/10

undying-monster

Leave a Reply

