Skyfall (Mendes, 2012)

Skyfall (Sam Mendes, 2012)

When I saw Roger Deakins’ name attached to this film, I knew I was going to have to see it at some point. Heck, I’m actually quite a big fan of action movies that are gorgeously shot because they generally are accompanied by a subdued tone. Skyfall doesn’t quite fall into that category. Gorgeously shot, no doubt, but a very typical action movie from a tone and pace perspective. Beginning with a terrible opening chase sequence that includes an annoyingly unrealistic disregard for innocent bystanders’ safety, I felt I was in for a lazy effort. But much goes right after this point including the aforementioned care for aesthetics, a creepy performance from Javier Bardem, and a highly entertaining (and unashamedly over-the-top) story. I’m not even close to a Bond expert, but this has been my favorite so far.  7.25/10

skyfall

One Response to “Skyfall (Mendes, 2012)”

  1. Spot on review, babe!

Leave a Reply

