4th Annual Chrisfilm Awards (2013)

Every year, to celebrate the Academy Awards, I come up with my personal list of nominations and winners. As per usual, my awards look a lot different than the Oscar nominations, but hopefully this will give my readers an idea of some other quality movies from 2012 that the Academy did not mention. I did see 5 out of the 9 Oscar Best Picture nominees though, in case you are looking for a point of reference to how ‘in the loop’ I am. Hope you enjoy!

And so begins the 4th Annual Chrisfilm Awards.


Best Supporting Actor:

Tom Hardy, The Dark Knight Rises
bsa - tom hardy dark knight rises

Dwight Henry, Beasts of the Southern Wild
bsa - dwight henry beasts of the southern wild

Ben Mendelsohn, The Place Beyond the Pines
bsa - Ben Mendelsohn place beyond the pines

Ronald Zehrfeld, Barbara
bsa - Ronald Zehrfeld barbara

And the winner is…

Ryan Gosling, The Place Beyond the Pines
bsa - ryan gosling place beyond the pines


Best Supporting Actress:

Amy Adams, The Master
bsac - amy adams the master

Monica Bellucci, Rhino Season
bsac - monica bellucci rhino season

Kara Hayward, Moonrise Kingdom
bsac - kara hayward moonrise kingdom

Edith Scob, Holy Motors
bsac - Edith Scob holy motors

And the winner is…

Frances McDormand, Moonrise Kingdom
bsac - frances mcdormand moonrise kingdom


Best Cinematography:

Turaj Aslani, Rhino Season
rhino season cinematography

Sean Bobbitt, The Place Beyond the Pines
place beyond the pines cinematography

Mihia Malaimare Jr., The Master
the master cinematography

Ben Richardson, Beasts of the Southern Wild
beasts of the southern wild cinematography

And the winner is…

Rob Hardy, Shadow Dancer
shadow dancer cinematography


Best Actress:

Judi Dench, The Best Exotic Marigold Hotel
bac - judi dench best exotic marigold hotel

Nina Hoss, Barbara
barbara nina hoss

Andrea Riseborough, Shadow Dancer
bac - Andrea Riseborough shadow dancer

Quvenzhané Wallis, Beasts of the Southern Wild
bac - Quvenzhané Wallis beasts of the southern wild

And the winner is…

Jennifer Lawrence, Silver Linings Playbook
bac - jennifer lawrence silver linings playbook


Best Actor:

Joseph Gordon-Levitt, Looper
ba - Joseph Gordon-Levitt looper

Philip Seymour Hoffman, The Master
ba - Philip Seymour Hoffman the master

Denis Lavant, Holy Motors
ba - Denis Lavant holy motors

Jean-Louis Trintignant, Amour
ba - Jean-Louis Trintignant amour

And the winner is…

Joaquin Phoenix, The Master
ba - Joaquin Phoenix the master


Best Director:

Wes Anderson, Moonrise Kingdom
wes anderson moonrise kingdom

Derek Cianfrance, The Place Beyond the Pines
derek cianfrance place beyond the pines

James Marsh, Shadow Dancer
james marsh shadow dancer

Steven Soderbergh, Haywire

And the winner is…

Rian Johnson, Looper
Joseph Gordon Levitt;Paul Dano


Best Picture of 2012:


Beasts of the Southern Wild
beasts of the southern wild


Holy Motors
holy motors

Moonrise Kingdom
moonrise kingdom

The Place Beyond the Pines
the place beyond the pines

Rhino Season
rhino season

Shadow Dancer
shadow dancer

Silver Linings Playbook
silver linings playbook

And the winner is…



One Response to “4th Annual Chrisfilm Awards (2013)”

  1. A few notes:
    1) Cinematography was crowded as usual. Wanted to include about 10 deserving flicks.
    2) Best Actor was tough too. Had to exclude 2 Bradley Cooper performances that were top notch.
    3) No Michelle Williams this year for the first time. But Ryan Gosling is leaving his mark on the Awards as he’s been in the last 3 years, and Joseph Gordon-Levitt, Jennifer Lawrence, and Amy Adams have made appearances in 2 of the years.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: