The Muppets (Bobin, 2011)

The Muppets (James Bobin, 2011)

I’m about a week overdue to write this as I watched it last weekend needing something to slow down my adrenaline after watching the Jayhawks move on to the final four. And I must say, The Muppets was exactly what I needed. Light, humorous, and often witty, I really enjoyed the heck out of this. Where this loses its footing is in the Jason Segal/Amy Adams storyline. I know muppet movies have always meshed humans into a puppet world, but this would have worked better if the only human interaction were the cameos.

But I enjoyed seeing the gang get back together, which included highlights from nearly all the classic characters. It’s a simple story and it prides itself on its simplicity and nostalgia. Its wit is derived from intellectual writing and not pop culture references; I couldn’t have been happier with the Muppet scenes.  7.25/10

Leave a Reply

