Top 10 Most Anticipated Films – Part Duex

I did this about a year and a half ago, and now that we have passed Oscar season and are well into 2012, I thought I’d do a new one. I’m hoping most of these will be out in the US by the end of the year, but I had to include a couple that I know probably won’t (because they are so far above all the others, not including them would be criminal).

1. Untitled Terrence Malick Project (Terrence Malick)
Well, here is the first of the ones I would like to be out by the end of the year, but have no expectations of such. But, hey, Malick has several films in the works right now, so maybe this will be available after all. (By the way, despite his others also being highly anticipated, I’m sticking to just this one as a representation of the whole.)

2. Post Tenebras Lux (Carlos Reygadas)
All you really have to do is read this and if you know me, you’ll know why I’m really excited for it. Though I’ll be surprised if we see this in 2012.

3. Only God Forgives (Nicolas Winding Refn)
After Refn and Gosling teamed up in Drive, I’m willing to watch anything this combo puts out. I can’t say the content of their last collaboration excited me, but the end result sure did, so I’m confident in this as well.

4. Killing Them Softly (Andrew Dominik)
Again, the past collaboration of Dominik and Brad Pitt resulted in The Assassination of Jesse James by the Coward Robert Ford – a fantastic film. So naturally, I’m excited for their next project.

5. Moonrise Kingdom (Wes Anderson)
I’ve always like Wes Anderson’s sense of humor, despite him being labeled as all the things I tend to be annoyed by. And when I saw this trailer, I saw potential for his best movie yet. It’s been a while since I’ve seen Edward Norton in anything worthwhile and I greatly anticipate this.

6. The Grandmasters (Wong Kar-wai)
I know very little about this film and it’s been on my radar for a few years. If any other name was attached to it, I would have zero interest, but I know Wong will make this into something special. He’s one of my favorite directors and it’s been entirely too long since he’s released anything.

7. The Place Beyond the Pines (Derek Cianfrance)
Last time I made this list, I had Blue Valentine on it and I couldn’t remember where I had even heard about that movie. Turns out it was excellent and now the same director is making another movie with Gosling. (Seriously, there is no one out there better than Gosling right now, both in his skill set and his eye for quality roles.)

8. Gravity (Alfonso Cuaron)
This would be much higher, but Cuaron has been absent for so long, I just don’t know what kind of jump back in he’s making. The synopsis sounds suspect, and normally I wouldn’t care, but I have a bad feeling he’s looking for a pay day. We’ll see.

9. The Wettest County (John Hillcoat)
Hillcoat has been hit or miss with me, but I want to give him one more chance. And since this film has Jessica Chastain, who proved in 2011 she’s going to be one of the best actresses of the generation, I’m excited for it.

10. Prometheus (Ridley Scott)
Obligatory big-budget blockbuster. Well, actually, I genuinely am kind of excited for this. Scott is awful now, but maybe we’ll see hints of what made Blade Runner so good?

One Response to “Top 10 Most Anticipated Films – Part Duex”

  1. chrisfilm Says:

    Dangit, I forgot about Paul Thomas Anderson’s new one – The Master. Looks like we’re getting that one in October!

Leave a Reply

