Best of… Series – 1963 – I Fidanzati

As a way to mix some of my old reviews in with my new reviews, I’m doing a Best of… Series. In this series, I will review my favorite movie of each year.

I Fidanzati (Ermanno Olmi, 1963)

This movie was much more quiet, slow, and romantic than I could have ever expected, and it was fantastic. The meat of the film is told mostly in flashbacks as the present-time storyline is somewhat unimportant. (Well, from a plot standpoint. It’s actually very important in the way it illustrates the main character’s loneliness.) The flashbacks show us how the man comes to be where he is, as well as what he left behind, and it’s all done in a way I’ve rarely seen before. It almost reminded me of The New World in the way it treats its romantic relationship with its use of unconventional sound and image editing, and interwoven timelines. The present timeline, though I mentioned it was somewhat unimportant, was still amazingly poetic and photographed. I loved watching this man stumble upon many different interesting, calming places. Heck, even the dirty old plant he works at is made to be beautiful. I don’t really have any complaints about this movie except that I wish it were longer.  10/10

Leave a Reply

