Best of… Series – 1981 – Vernon, Florida

As a way to mix some of my old reviews in with my new reviews, I’m doing a Best of… Series. In this series, I will review my favorite movie of each year.

Vernon, Florida (Errol Morris, 1981)

What a gem of a little movie here. This short, yet not ‘concise’ documentary takes a funny, yet touching look at a group of Florida rednecks. (There’s rednecks in Florida?) I think I enjoyed this film personally because the people in this movie reminded me of some people I’ve met in my neck of the woods (and even some extended family). Yes, it’s absolutely hilarious some of things that are said and done (both in the film and with the people I know), but at the same time there’s a touching innocence to it all that really makes me wish I lived in the boonies, at a slow pace, without a care in the world. There’s a scene where a man floats slowly in a canoe across the water, discussing God’s existence. “I’ve never seen anything more perfect in my life…than to see the perfection of God himself,” he states.

I  loved how Morris let the people talk, about anything, and didn’t edit it in a way that would have kept it ‘concise’ in the way that we would normally think of the word. He truly captures all kinds in this film, and it was about a true as film gets.  10/10

Leave a Reply

