Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows: Part 2 (Yates, 2011)

Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows: Part 2 (David Yates, 2011)

With our new son in hand, and to ensure we would not disturb anyone, the wife and I headed to the drive-in to catch the last installment in the Harry Potter series. It almost doesn’t feel right reviewing this because a drive-in screen is apparently not the ideal venue for viewing this (or perhaps any) movie. I don’t know if it was because it was not fully dark outside, or if there were issues with the projection, but any dimly lit scene was almost impossible to see. With that in mind, let me give this a try.

This film moves fast. I guess since it is technically the second half of a story, that shouldn’t have surprised me, but it definitely felt like we were flying through events. Because of this, I’m not sure if I ever felt any of the real terror you would expect from the circumstances. Part 1 felt much more intense, overwhelming, and even hopeless, which would have been a more appropriate tone for much of Part 2 as well. Luckily, and as it has been since the third Harry Potter movie, this was a fine technical achievement. The wizarding world continues to be a visual treat, and what of the tone is lost in the poor pace, is partly re-gained in aesthetics. Additionally, I finally know why they cast Alan Rickman as Snape. Despite being a fine actor, I never felt like it took much to portray that character in the movies. But having a man who could turn on an emotional switch at the drop of a hat was essential for an accurate depiction of Snape’s memories. To me, this scene was the highlight of the film.  8/10

One Response to “Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows: Part 2 (Yates, 2011)”

  1. johnfilmreviews Says:

    Agreed. An extra 15 or 20 minutes would’ve really helped the pacing here, but it still was really well-done. And I’ve always loved Rickman as Snape, but I still was amazed by his performance – I nearly teared up in his scenes, which was completely unexpected!

Leave a Reply

