TRON: Legacy (Kosinski, 2010)

TRON: Legacy (Joseph Kosinski, 2010)

After watching this on dvd, I’m mad at myself that I didn’t see this in a theater. And, despite being completely against it, I kind of wish I would have seen this in 3-D. This is exactly what CGI was made for – a film set in a digital world, where a brand new reality is created and completely committed to. The exciting visual experience is accompanied by an equally awesome audio experience. Daft Punk and endless neon lights are enough to counter the overall poor performance (and horribly written one-liners) of Garrett Hedlund as the main character (though Jeff Bridges is actually the dominant force here).

Strangely enough, I was picking up a lot of religious parallels (or maybe they were all obvious and this isn’t strange at all). Early on, Kevin Flynn mentions that he creates the program Clu ‘in his image’, and I figured we might head down this path. Sure enough, there is creation, rebellion, betrayal, and sacrifice – a digital telling of the Old Testament through the Gospels (well, loosely, of course). All in all, I found this to me a much more awesome experience than I would have thought.  8.75/10

Leave a Reply

