Aladdin (Clements, Musker, 1992)

I was born and raised a Disney child and I never have grown out of it. Despite this, it has been a while since I’ve seen almost all of the classic animated Disney movies I grew up with. So I have decided I want to watch them all again – in order of release. When I finish, I will rank them all, and hand out my number scores from there.

Aladdin (Ron Clements & John Musker, 1992)

In a surprising turn of events, Aladdin does not quite live up to the glorious memories I have of it. I was 9 when this movie came out and because I grew up on it being one of those I probably watched more than any, I think I will always enjoy it. But there is much that is grating on a re-watch. The genie, despite his infinite fame, could be one of the most disappointing characters in any of these movies. Why they felt the need to have him impersonate Groucho Marx, Jack Nicholson, Pinocchio, and many other modern-day figures is beyond me. It removes viewers from the Arabian setting completely is a complete swing-and-a-miss on the humor front. The film thrives in the adventure and romance genres. Aladdin, Jasmine, and Jafar are strong enough characters in helping bring the story to life that the genie could have easily been much more toned down. Despite all this, nostalgia often wins out, and I did like seeing this again. The film’s last act is extremely creative both in its no-limits approach and its dark and dangerous animation. It helps make up for what the genie almost ruins.  7.75/10

Leave a Reply

