Beauty and the Beast (Trousdale, Wise, 1991)

I was born and raised a Disney child and I never have grown out of it. Despite this, it has been a while since I’ve seen almost all of the classic animated Disney movies I grew up with. So I have decided I want to watch them all again – in order of release. When I finish, I will rank them all, and hand out my number scores from there.

Beauty and the Beast (Gary Trousdale & Kirk Wise, 1991)

You know, I still don’t get the love for this one. After rewatching it, I can safely say that to me this will always be a middle-of-the-pack Disney film. There is a bit too much cartoonism for my liking. I know, complaining about a cartoon being too cartoony doesn’t really seem fair, but when you have so many other Disney films that somehow avoid this flaw, it’s noticeable when it exists. And, truthfully, it might be the entirely-too-heavy contrast of cartoon features with realism features that is actually throwing me off. (At one moment, the servants have genuine fear of the beast, and the next they are barking orders at him as he looks at them submissively.) But even with all that, I do enjoy the love story, especially how it’s told mostly through song-accompanied montage. So, all in all, this is very hit or miss, and I’d have to describe this as only slightly above average.  6.75/10

6 Responses to “Beauty and the Beast (Trousdale, Wise, 1991)”

  1. You’re wrong! I quite enjoyed this rewatch. Granted there are alot of real-life discrepancies, including the fact that the beast is only 21…but overall I thought it was a very enjoyable flick.

  2. Kyle King Says:

    But, but… it’s a tale as old as time! A song as old as rhyme!!!

  3. My favorite animated film ever. Surprisingly enough, I loved it as a teen. It was one of the few Disney films that I never grew to dislike or ignore in my teenager years. Good review, check out my review when you can!

  4. It’s interesting how people have different tastes in films. Personally, I thought Aladdin and Lion King had far more cartoonish aspects than Beauty and the Beast, which I regard as one of the more serious films to come out of Disney. I think the contrast you’re describing stems from the fact that the Beast isn’t really a monster yet he occasionally has violent tendencies. During his darker moments, the servants would be frightened. But when he turns back to normal, he’s quite harmless and the servants would be aware of that since they lived with him for so long.
    It’s not illogical that the servants could communicate more freely with him in this state and even scold him, since it’s pointed out that he’s also quite young.

    On a last note, I am quite surprised you place this below Aristocrats, which I consider far inferior to this film both in story and animation (especially the latter).

Leave a Reply

