The Little Mermaid (Clements, Musker, 1989)

I was born and raised a Disney child and I never have grown out of it. Despite this, it has been a while since I’ve seen almost all of the classic animated Disney movies I grew up with. So I have decided I want to watch them all again – in order of release. When I finish, I will rank them all, and hand out my number scores from there.

The Little Mermaid (Ron Clements & John Musker, 1989)

Sorry it has taken me so long to get back to this series. I had a slight bit of trouble obtaining a dvd of this movie that didn’t look like it had been through a meat grinder. Again, better than I remembered. Similar to what I liked about Sleeping Beauty, this is an unashamed fairy tale that just happens to cross two worlds – our world at land, and a world under the sea. No, there is absolutely no development to the central relationship. Ariel ‘falls in love’ with the prince based on two encounters, neither of which involved them speaking to each other. But after she arrives on land to spend a few days with him, their romantic and playful activities feel genuine. (Still, the whole ‘you have three days to get true love’s kiss’ schtick deserves at least a slight eye-roll.) But couple this playfulness with an exciting, adventurous story, arguably the scariest villain in a Disney film yet, and a great collection of songs, and this is a step back in the right direction after several questionable efforts from the 80s.  8/10

3 Responses to “The Little Mermaid (Clements, Musker, 1989)”

  1. I really enjoyed this rewatch as well. The only other thing that I found slighly ‘eye-rolling’ is that Ariel is supposed to be 16 in the movie. I do think for the most part her actions seem very teenage-ish throughout the movie but personally I don’t know that I love the idea of a 16 year old getting married 🙂

    • Yes, but keep in mind the time period. I think it’s easy to forget that this movie actually probably takes place in the 1800s. (I think.)

  2. She’s 16 already? Practically an old maid! 🙂

Leave a Reply

