2011 Oscar Nominations

Wow, so I feel a little ashamed to say I didn’t even know the Oscar nominations had come out until about an hour ago. I guess that’s what happens when the nominations get as bad as they were last year.

When it gets closer to the actual award ceremony, I will do my 2nd Annual Chrisfilm Awards (1st Annual found here). But for now I want to briefly give my thoughts on this year’s nominations:

Best Picture:
Congrats to Winter’s Bone for getting a nomination here! I knew it would get some acting nominations, but didn’t know if it would make the cut for this category. Others I’ve seen and liked are The Social Network, True Grit, Toy Story 3, and Inception.

Best Actor:
No surprises here.

Best Actress:
Michele Williams for Blue Valentine is a nice surprise. I desperately want to see this and am shocked that it got any recognition at all.

Best Supporting Actor:
John Hawkes for Winter’s Bone is an obvious choice for me. Glad the Academy felt the same.

Best Supporting Actress:
Don’t know much about these nominations

Best Director:
No surprises here.

Best Cinematography:
The nominations are decent with True Grit being an obvious choice. Would have liked to have seen Winter’s Bone here as well, but what can you do?

Best Animated Film:
Please stop wasting our time and just give it to Toy Story 3.

2 Responses to “2011 Oscar Nominations”

  1. Cid Gillispie Says:

    Chris, I have to disagree with your supporting actor pick. Christian Bales nails it as the crack-cocaine, jumpy skinny brother. How much weight did he really lose to play this part?

    • Yeah, I’ll have to save judgment until I see The Fighter. Bale is usually good, so I imagine he’s great.

      Speaking of losing weight, have you seen The Machinist? As a movie it’s decent, but Bale lost a TON of weight for that one too.

Leave a Reply

