The Great Mouse Detective (Clements, Mattison, Michener, Musker, 1986)

I was born and raised a Disney child and I never have grown out of it. Despite this, it has been a while since I’ve seen almost all of the classic animated Disney movies I grew up with. So I have decided I want to watch them all again – in order of release. When I finish, I will rank them all, and hand out my number scores from there.

The Great Mouse Detective (Ron Clements, Burny Mattison, David Michener, & John Musker, 1986)

Again, better than I remembered. Unfortunately for Disney, this 1986 film about mice falls in the shadow of ex-Disney collaborator Don Bluth’s 1986 film about mice, An American Tail, in nearly every important way. Where it excels is in its level of fun. From almost start to finish, I was enjoying the ride this film took me on – the interesting plot setup, Basil’s escape sequence, and the final battle in Big Ben all literally put a smile on my face. However, there are really no serious themes here. This is probably one of Disney’s most cartoony efforts (which isn’t necessarily a bad thing since this a cartoon, but it does hurt it in comparison to their others). The combination of bad timing and other more solid efforts make this kind of middle of the pack, despite being a load of fun.  7/10

Leave a Reply

