The Muppet Christmas Carol (B. Henson, 1992)

The Muppet Christmas Carol (Brian Henson, 1992)

Merry Christmas everyone! Last night, my wife and I enjoyed one of my favorite Christmas movies – The Muppet Christmas Carol. Having shamefully not read Dickens’ novel, this rendition of the tale is the one I always think of when A Christmas Carol is mentioned. (And, yes, I sometimes forget there is really only one Marley!)

Anyway, what makes this movie work the way it does is Michael Caine. His near flawless depiction of Ebenezer Scrooge brings a nice element of heartfelt drama to the film. I believe in his transformation – his guilt and his sorrow. When he pleads with the ghost of Christmas future, even those who despised him most would be begging for his second chance if they could see him. Most importantly, though, I believe Caine is truly part of this cast of characters, and not just a man doing scenes with a bunch of puppets. Additionally, this movie is funny. Gonzo and Rizzo the Rat’s ‘narration’ provides an entertaining comedic spark; their often sarcastic and witty one-liners never wear thin, and I find myself picking up on new hilarious throwaway lines every time I watch it. Good movie.  8/10

2 Responses to “The Muppet Christmas Carol (B. Henson, 1992)”

  1. Yes! This is definitely one of the King family Christmas traditions. Without fail, the Cratchit future Christmas reduces me to a mess of shimmering hot tears. Such a good movie.

    I like your point on Caine being part of the cast. I’d never thought about it before, but he really does act well with the other diminutive actors.

Leave a Reply

