The Fox and the Hound (Berman, Rich, Stevens, 1981)

I was born and raised a Disney child and I never have grown out of it. Despite this, it has been a while since I’ve seen almost all of the classic animated Disney movies I grew up with. So I have decided I want to watch them all again – in order of release. When I finish, I will rank them all, and hand out my number scores from there.

The Fox and the Hound (Ted Berman, Richard Rich, & Art Stevens, 1981)

My lukewarm memories of this one were mostly accurate. Though since I couldn’t remember much about this film, it was probably more of a good guess than anything. Similar to the problem I had with The Jungle Book, the friendship between Tod and Copper elevates to ‘best friend’ status entirely too quickly. The two spend an afternoon playing together and suddenly they are best friends, and we’re supposed to view their story as a tragic separation. And if you can’t buy into their friendship, the rest of the movie kind of loses meaning. There are other bits and pieces that feel genuine, like the sorrow of the widow and Tod’s separation, or when Tod meets his lady fox and the two start a flirtatious romance. But overall, this film misses its mark.  6/10

One Response to “The Fox and the Hound (Berman, Rich, Stevens, 1981)”

  1. Well, I remember being a toddler and making best friends just after an afternoon of playing. I really like this movie 😀

Leave a Reply

