The Rescuers (Lounsbery, Reitherman, Stevens, 1977)

I was born and raised a Disney child and I never have grown out of it. Despite this, it has been a while since I’ve seen almost all of the classic animated Disney movies I grew up with. So I have decided I want to watch them all again – in order of release. When I finish, I will rank them all, and hand out my number scores from there.

The Rescuers (John Lounsbery, Wolfgang Reitherman, & Art Stevens, 1977)

Ah ha, here is one of the main reasons I ever started this review series. I hadn’t seen this movie in a long time, but had it in my head that it would impress on a re-watch. And while it didn’t soar up my list like I had hoped, it was still very good. The Rescuers is perhaps the darkest Disney film up to this point and the filmmakers have no shame in emotionally manipulating the audience. (The girl speaks of being passed over for adoption for prettier girls and lifts a prayer asking for someone to find her help note because ‘running away just isn’t working anymore.’) But she’s just so cute and in such an awful, unimaginable situation, that you can’t help but feel for her.

The mice main characters are also great. Their mission to rescue the girl is accompanied by their falling for one another. Along the way, Bernard tries to impress Bianca, though never to the point that he’d be willing to cover up his intense fear of everything remotely dangerous. He is who he is, and she likes him anyway. The film’s main villain is pretty much a copy of Cruella De Vil and her over-the-top wickedness doesn’t match the tone and relaxed bayou setting. Having a calm and sinister baddie would have been better. But, alas, still great and one of Disney’s most underrated.  7.75/10

Leave a Reply

