The Aristocats (Reitherman, 1970)

I was born and raised a Disney child and I never have grown out of it. Despite this, it has been a while since I’ve seen almost all of the classic animated Disney movies I grew up with. So I have decided I want to watch them all again – in order of release. When I finish, I will rank them all, and hand out my number scores from there.

The Aristocats (Wolfgang Reitherman, 1970)

Early 20th century Paris, the French countryside, and the jazz scene all rolled into one. I don’t know how this one eluded me during my childhood, but this is the first time I’ve seen this. It’s a simple movie on the surface, but becomes a bit more complex if you really think about it. (Who is the father of these kittens? Why does their mother have such an easy time adjusting to life on the streets?) But even if you push those intriguing backstory questions aside, it’s stands alone as a fun movie with characters full of personality. Few songs are as good as when the group of alley cat musicians come together to convince even those who despise cats (me) that ‘everybody wants to be a cat.’ If the film is missing something, it needs a more true threat of danger. Never once did I actually take the antagonistic butler seriously.  7.25/10

Leave a Reply

