Suspiria (Argento, 1977)

Suspiria (Dario Argento, 1977)

The horror genre is easily my biggest blind spot when it comes to film watching. So while I’m not going to pretend to know if this works well as a horror or suspense film, I do know that it works in many ways I appreciate in any genre. First, the aesthetics are out of this world. Shot to look (I’m sure) like a nightmare, Argento uses every color imaginable to create an eerie, sublime, but beautiful setting. The set pieces, lighting, and camera placements are all unbelievably original, making for one of the best looking films I’ve ever seen.

If this film had flaws, I’m kind of thinking they were purposeful (maybe a staple of the genre?). Regardless, it was hard for me to look past the mostly horrid acting, and rushed ending. The whole film does such a great job of taking its time and letting the story be told visually that the exposition and quick conclusion felt a bit out of place. These minor issues I had are not enough, though, to bring down so much positive mood, atmosphere, cinematography, and music (which was delightfully odd).  8.75/10

Leave a Reply

