Sleeping Beauty (Geronimi, 1959)

I was born and raised a Disney child and I never have grown out of it. Despite this, it has been a while since I’ve seen almost all of the classic animated Disney movies I grew up with. So I have decided I want to watch them all again – in order of release. When I finish, I will rank them all, and hand out my number scores from there.

Sleeping Beauty (Clyde Geronimi, 1959)

And this is a classic example of why I’m re-watching all of these movies. I would have skipped over this normally, and I would have missed out on a good one. Sleeping Beauty might be the quintessential fairy tale – a strength because of its unabashed approach that hides behind nothing. Everything from a villain of pure evil to Aurora and Philip’s dance in the forest to the slaying of the dragon screams of fantasy that is proud to just be fantasy. Additionally, this film’s soundtrack is great (not just the songs, but the actual instrumental score). The scene where Aurora falls into a trance and follows Maleficent’s light to the spinning wheel is so eerie. Not only is it creepy that a whole maze of tunnels and stairs exist behind the fireplace in that room, but the music and sounds from that scene are also frightening. So for whatever reason, my memories of this were dull, but this really is a fine movie.  8.25/10

Leave a Reply

