Lady and the Tramp (Geronimi, Jackson, Luske, 1955)

I was born and raised a Disney child and I never have grown out of it. Despite this, it has been a while since I’ve seen almost all of the classic animated Disney movies I grew up with. So I have decided I want to watch them all again – in order of release. When I finish, I will rank them all, and hand out my number scores from there.

Lady and the Tramp (Clyde Geronimi, Wilfred Jackson, & Hamilton Luske, 1955)

A small part of me thought that with my refined movie tastes, a love story set in Maine at the turn of the 20th century would be right up my alley. (And now that I have a dog, I thought this would help too.) But, alas, I still view this as somewhat minor Disney. I guess it’s still somewhat hard for me to connect to a love story about dogs, and I just kept finding myself underwhelmed throughout. Lady’s mannerisms as a puppy are extremely accurate, and I almost enjoyed the opening segment of the film more than anything else. I can’t really think of anything bad to say; it just isn’t for me. Well, I take that back – despite the siamese cats being uber-creepy and singing a great song, they really are nothing more than a plot device to kick off the meat of the film. That bugged me.  6.25/10

2 Responses to “Lady and the Tramp (Geronimi, Jackson, Luske, 1955)”

  1. So so sad to see this review. Lady & The Tramp is one of my all time favorite Disney movies. How can you not get the warm fuzzies over the meatball scene???

    • chrisfilm Says:

      No…? *hides behind couch* I kind of thought it would this time around, but not so much.

      I think this one is pretty much universally adored though, so I’m just the odd ball.

Leave a Reply

