Peter Pan (Geronimi, Jackson, Luske, 1953)

I was born and raised a Disney child and I never have grown out of it. Despite this, it has been a while since I’ve seen almost all of the classic animated Disney movies I grew up with. So I have decided I want to watch them all again – in order of release. When I finish, I will rank them all, and hand out my number scores from there.

Peter Pan (Clyde Geronimi, Wilfred Jackson, & Hamilton Luske, 1953)

Peter Pan might be the most fun Disney movie I’ve re-watched yet. The story is fun, perfectly paced, and the characters are anything but bland. Pan is more of a mischievous hero than I remembered. He has no reservations about trying to feed Hook to the crocodile on numerous occasions. He laughs as the mermaids try to drown Wendy. He flirts with Wendy in front of Tinkerbell, and flirts with Tiger Lily in front of Wendy. And through it all, everyone looks up to him. It makes for a strange and interesting dynamic.

The animation is, again, fantastic, especially the night scenes in London, and the attention to detail of Never Land’s scenery. I think I’d like to live there. A life of dressing as a wild animal and doing nothing but sleeping in a hollowed-out tree with secret passageways, and playing games with the natives sounds like what I need. Where do I sign up to be a lost boy? And am I allowed to take my wife with me, or will Pan flirt with her too?  8.5/10

Leave a Reply

