Cinderella (Geronimi, Jackson, Luske, 1950)

I was born and raised a Disney child and I never have grown out of it. Despite this, it has been a while since I’ve seen almost all of the classic animated Disney movies I grew up with. So I have decided I want to watch them all again – in order of release. When I finish, I will rank them all, and hand out my number scores from there.

Cinderella (Clyde Geronimi, Wilfred Jackson, & Hamilton Luske, 1950)

Repetitive and tedious are the two words I’d used to describe this latest trip down memory lane. Someone actually warned me this weekend that Cinderella was boring when viewed as an adult, and that assessment was correct. Basically, it consists of the mice doing something funny (which is probably the best part of the movie) and running from the cat, and Cinderella getting yelled at by her family. Rinse and repeat. Eventually the film’s magic begins and Cinderella’s fairy godmother turns a pumpkin into a carriage, mice into horses, and really dolls up Cinderella’s ball-going experience. But this section of the film (ball included) is much shorter than I remembered.

And before you know it, my least favorite scene has begun – the transporting of the key up to Cinderella’s room. It reminds me of one of those disaster movies where everything that can go wrong, will go wrong. What the filmmakers are viewing as suspense is actually just annoyance – especially since the amount of time it would take the mice to get up the stairs, get trapped by the cat, and have the dog chase the cat away is much, much longer than the time spent having the step-sisters try on the slipper. It just doesn’t add up. I’ll be okay if I don’t see Cinderella again for a long time.  5.5/10

Leave a Reply

