Pinocchio (Luske, Sharpsteen, 1940)

I was born and raised a Disney child and I never have grown out of it. Despite this, it has been a while since I’ve seen almost all of the classic animated Disney movies I grew up with. So I have decided I want to watch them all again – in order of release. When I finish, I will rank them all, and hand out my number scores from there.

Pinocchio (Hamilton Luske & Ben Sharpsteen, 1940)

At the root of it all, Pinocchio is actually a coming-of-age story. A naive boy goes out into the world and experiences a lot along the way. He blatantly dis-obeys his conscience, stays out for days, smokes, drinks, and does most of this after seemingly realizing his mistake and wanting to go home. The Disney crew did a great job with the details, making this cartoon puppet feel like an actual child. He fidgets nervously while on stage at Stromboli’s, has a hard time pronouncing his new friend, Lampwick’s, name (perhaps he had one too many beers by this point), and is absolutely hilariously accurate (as a child would be) as he tries to lie to the Blue Fairy.

I’ve always kind of found it strange how Pinocchio’s end goal is to become a ‘real boy’, and that everyone around him seems to pushing him towards this. He already is a real boy. He can walk, talk, get into mischief, love, fear, etc. The treasure he seeks is already in his pocket. But maybe that’s the whole point. This has always been one of my favorite Disney movies, as it actually fits the mould of something I would like regardless of nostalgic feelings.  8.75/10

Leave a Reply

