Snow White and the Seven Dwarfs (Hand, 1937)

And so begins my Disney film series. I was born and raised a Disney child and I never have grown out of it. Despite this, it has been a while since I’ve seen almost all of the classic animated Disney movies I grew up with. So I have decided I want to watch them all again – in order of release. When I finish, I will rank them all, and hand out my number scores from there. So let’s get started.

Snow White and the Seven Dwarfs (David Hand, 1937)

It’s almost kind of humorous watching this after seeing Enchanted. I had no idea so many of the jokes in that film were in reference to this one particular Disney work. And, yes, those jokes have merit. There is a rather heavy sense of naivety throughout this film, almost always coming from Snow White herself. But I like to think most of this is more a result of the circumstances she finds herself living in as opposed to a simpleton view on the female gender. When it’s all said and done, she still rides off with the prince and ‘lives happily ever after’, but she has at least gained a small amount of perspective from her time living with the dwarfs.

And boy is that time with the dwarfs fun. She attends a fantastic yodeling party, fights off an insistent Dopey seeking several kisses, and tries to win Grumpy over to her side. And she brings a sense of responsibility to the group by exposing them to things like the need for cleanliness and a good, strong meal. Sure, it might sound like I’m poking fun at the movie, but I think these are actually important characterizations, especially in the way she isn’t afraid to assert these lessons on them. And, of course, I’ll mention here at the end, the film has to get some credit for being the first feature-length animated film ever made.¬† 7.5/10

Leave a Reply

