Chrisfilm’s Top 20 Films

NOTE: Please see here for my latest list. This list might not be up-to-date.

And now for a special treat. Here are my 20 favorite movies of all time. No guidelines, rules, or stipulations. These are the 20 movies I would choose to take with me to a deserted island – 20 movies I’ve seen multiple times that never fail to ‘wow’ and emotionally impact me.

1. The New World (Terrence Malick, 2005)

.

2. The Thin Red Line (Terrence Malick, 1998)

.

3. Paris, Texas (Wim Wenders, 1984)

.

4. George Washington (David Gordon Green, 2000)

.

5. Street Angel (Frank Borzage, 1928)

.

6. Ashes of Time (Wong Kar-wai, 1994)

.

7. Ménilmontant (Dimitri Kirsanoff, 1926)

.

8. Ratcatcher (Lynne Ramsay, 1999)

.

9. Days of Heaven (Terrence Malick, 1978)

.

10. Clean (Olivier Assayas, 2004)

.

11. Beau Travail (Claire Denis, 1999)

.

12. I Fidanzati (Ermanno Olmi, 1963)

.

13. All the Real Girls (David Gordon Green, 2003)

.

14. Slow Moves (Jon Jost, 1983)

.

15. Bronco Billy (Clint Eastwood, 1980)

 

.

16. Ordet (Carl Theodor Dreyer, 1955)

.

17. Code 46 (Michael Winterbottom, 2003)

.

18. Man of the West (Anthony Mann, 1958)

.

19. Vernon, Florida (Errol Morris, 1981)

.

20. The Priest and the Girl (Joaquim Pedro de Andrade, 1966)

11 Responses to “Chrisfilm’s Top 20 Films”

  1. I’ve got very different taste from you, so it’s always interesting to hear your perspective. I’ve haven’t even seen 19 of your 20 (although a lot of them are high on my list of things to see).

    My top 20:
    1. The Muppet Movie
    2. Wall-E
    3. The Princess Bride
    4. Time Bandits
    5. Where the Wild Things Are
    6. The Dark Knight
    7. Eternal Sunshine
    8. Kill Bill
    9. Moon
    10. The Dark Crystal
    11. The Good, the Bad and the Ugly
    12. Labyrinth
    13. Twelve Monkeys
    14. Willy Wonka & the Chocolate Factory
    15. Dark City
    16. Batman Begins
    17. 25th Hour
    18. Up
    19. Inglorious Basterds
    20. Rocky

    • chrisfilm Says:

      Thanks for participating Daniel!

      Wall-E, Where the Wild Things Are, Eternal Sunshine, Moon, and GBU are some of my favorites as well. The Muppet Movie will always be a guilty pleasure of mine as well. =)

      Only 1 out of 20, eh? Consider this your homework assignment. 😉

  2. Since this is my list and I can post it without fear of retaliation, here is it without rules, guidelines, or stipulations:

    1. Sabrina
    2. Sunset Blvd
    3. Rocky I
    4. Rocky II
    5. Thief
    6. Pride & Prejudice
    7. Mary Poppins
    8. The Godfather I
    9. Darjeeling Limited
    10. Iraq in Fragments
    11. Raise the Red Lantern
    12. Love Song for Bobby Long
    13. My Fair Lady
    14. The Pianist
    15. Pollock
    16. Raise the Red Lantern
    17. Days of Heaven
    18. Harry Potter & the Order of the Phoenix
    19. Witness for the Prosecution
    20. Godfather II

    • chrisfilm Says:

      Thanks for posting darling! I definitely love Thief, Darjeeling Limited, Iraq in Fragments, and Days of Heaven! And I should really watch Raise the Red Latern again. Shall we make it a date?

    • Kyle King Says:

      Yay Witness for the Prosecution!

  3. 1. All Dogs Go to Heaven
    2. Homeward Bound: The Incredible Journey
    3. Beverly Hills Chihuahua
    4. Lassie
    5. Air Bud

  4. Kyle King Says:

    Probably the first five are the only ones truly thought out, the rest are in no particular order…

    1. The Big Country
    2. The Quiet Man
    3. Casablanca
    4. The Sound of Music
    5. The Sting
    6. The Towering Inferno
    7. Oscar
    8. Monty Python and the Holy Grail (mainly for the cinematography)
    9. Animal Crackers
    10. It’s a Wonderful Life
    11. Muppet Christmas Carol
    12. Bringing up Baby
    13. The African Queen
    14. Arsenic and Old Lace
    15. Return of the Jedi (original, not special edition)
    16. Up
    17. The Great Escape
    18. Ben-Hur
    19. Fellowship of the Ring
    20. Young Frankenstein

    • chrisfilm Says:

      Ah, I still need to see The Big Country and The Quiet Man. Actually I need to see quite a few of these. Monty Python is an obvious choice for cinematography.

      Your listing of Arsenic and Old Lace reminds me I need to see that again. I remember it being hilarious.

  5. jackskelliez Says:

    I added Ashes of Time and Walkabout to my queue. Also, I watched Street Angel per your recommendation – loved it – thanks!

    • chrisfilm Says:

      I thought you’d seen Ashes of Time for some reason. Make sure you see the Redux, and watch it twice if possible. It’s slightly hard to follow just one time through (or maybe it was just because I saw the horrid non-redux the first time around).

    • chrisfilm Says:

      Oh yeah, and glad you liked Street Angel!

Leave a Reply

