My Nights Are More Beautiful Than Your Days (Zulawski, 1989)

My Nights Are More Beautiful Than Your Days (Andrzej Zulawski, 1989)

Yeah, so I guess I don’t get this stuff. Way deep down there’s a touching story about two lost and broken people finding each other and establishing a love they have been longing for their entire lives. The two are also battling their pasts and the memories of childhood tragedies. And when those moments are present, there’s something special happening in this film. However, the whole thing is frustratingly playful and whimsical, and exactly what I dis-like about most of Godard’s films. The main character makes everything rhyme, applauds with shoes on his hands, rambles on and on about nothing, and it was more annoying than anything. (Though, truthfully, if it hadn’t been for all the endless talking, I could have looked past the other stuff.) It was a lot harder for me to sympathize with any of the serious stuff going on in these people’s lives when everything was so snap-quick and seemed nonchalant to them. The theme and the tone clash horribly. There were a few moments where the film slowed down just a bit where I could see something I liked, but they were few and far between.  6/10

Leave a Reply

