Toy Story 3 (Unkrich, 2010)

This review contains slight spoilers (2nd paragraph).

Toy Story 3 (Lee Unkrich, 2010)

Once again Pixar has released another very good movie. When I heard they were making a third Toy Story, I was not impressed. I thought it sounded like overkill, especially in a day where studios milk popular franchises for all they’re worth and often tarnish good predecessors. With the Toy Story series, however, I’m going to have a hard time deciding which of the three is my favorite. I seriously think it could change from day to day. They are all about equally as good.

But anyway, on to my thoughts on this third installment. For parts of the film, yes, it did feel like they were living off nostalgia from the first two. In fact, there were times I was worried it was going to be nothing but a long reminisce session. But after they got past the initial character re-introductions, the story is quite entertaining. (Well, until the overly long and sappy conclusion.) Yes, they are still going for the whole friendship theme that is used in the first two but, hey, why change what works? It even takes it a step further when the characters find themselves in a near-death situation and, in what was a very serious scene for a kid’s movie, they grab each others hands and accept the fact that they are going to die (for a minute I thought it might actually happen, but of course they are saved at the last minute). Additionally, Toy Story 3 might offer up the single most hilarious gag in the entire series – Mr. Tortilla Head. Just see it.  8.25/10

Lee Unkrich
2 Responses to “Toy Story 3 (Unkrich, 2010)”

  1. Kyle King Says:

    Yeah, the scene in the dump is one of the most amazing scenes ever. I think Pixar excels at grasping moments of pure storytelling art in the midst of making an already good and fun movie, and I think this was a transcendent scene. I also really liked the ending, though. Yes, it was cheesy. Yes, it made grown men bawl (not speaking from experience, really…). But I thought it was an effective “goodbye to childhood” scene. Also, it fit in well with the opener by portraying some stellar childhood imagination.

    • chrisfilm Says:

      The end made me bawl too, only because I was sad they ended it so poorly. =) I’m okay with the ‘goodbye to childhood’ stuff, but the way Andy pulled out each toy one by one and described them really felt like a forced goodbye to the characters.

Comments are closed.

