The Incredible Hulk (Leterrier, 2008)

The Incredible Hulk (Louis Leterrier, 2008)

Okay, so sue me. I found some sort of weird charm to this movie. Well, let me clarify – I found charm in the first half of this movie. The second half is just a big fight scene that I actually feel asleep during (but I think I got the gist of it). But for some strange reason I was pulled in by the first half. Edward Norton plays the human side of the Hulk very well. There is a scene where he returns home and seeks out a glimpse of his lost love that almost felt like it could have been out of a silent film. (Or maybe I was just so sleepy last night, I was delusional.) The romantic relationship in the first half of this film really worked for me despite Liv Tyler’s best effort to make it awful. Additionally, Leterrier actually does some great things with the lighting during the first half too. I found myself impressed on a couple of occasions with the cinematography. So, overall, not a bad movie until the comic book stuff takes over.  6.5/10

Leave a Reply

