Act of Violence (Zinnemann, 1948)

Act of Violence (Fred Zinnemann, 1948)

I liked bits and pieces of this film more than the actual film itself. At this point, I think I’ve decided I’m not a huge fan of movies about an every day model citizen with a shady, unknown past. They just aren’t my cup of tea. But though the storyline didn’t excite me, I found the film to be a fine technical achievement. First, the sound editing is fantastic. Whether it was the creaking of the oars against the side of the boat as Robert Ryan’s character slowly chased down the protagonist, or the sliding of Ryan’s character’s (a man with a limp) leg across the protagonist’s front porch, the sounds really helped create a tense mood. Also, the film’s cinematography was good. The lighting, framing, and general settings were all visually impressive.  7.75/10

Leave a Reply

