Date Night (Levy, 2010)

Date Night (Shawn Levy, 2010)

Yes, I thought this was very funny. I’ve always liked Steve Carell, and I haven’t seen much of Tina Fey, but I thought she was great as well. I think what stood out to me most about this film is that it was not about a couple on the ropes, so miserable with each other that their marriage is in shambles. It’s about an average couple who have fallen into a very regular rut from the busyness of every day life. Carell’s character tries to spice things up by going on a fancy date, they are falsely identified as undercover blackmailers, and all sorts of craziness breaks loose. Basically, I had a very good time watching this and it wasn’t insultingly stupid – a good, solid blockbuster comedy.  6.5/10

2 Responses to “Date Night (Levy, 2010)”

  1. I will say it is forgettable, but while it was going, it had me laughing my ass off! Carell and Fey are just perfect together, and although the script is not as edgy as people would have hoped, it still has its PG-13 funny moments. Great cameos too!

    • I think I prefer pg-13 humor to R humor. You have to be more creative that way, where a lot of R humor relies on shock value. I’m not really a humor expert though.

Leave a Reply

