Couples Retreat (Billingsley, 2009)

Couples Retreat (Peter Billingsley, 2009)

This was really, really unfunny. I had low expectations for this, but it didn’t even meet those. The movie features a couple of scenes where a little kid uses a display toilet in a home improvement store as an actual toilet, and these were the funniest parts. Almost everything involving couples and retreating was not funny. Additionally, while two of the featured couples experience honest marital spats with somewhat realistic resolutions, the other two couples hate each other and magically make up at the end. (Actually, one couple isn’t even seen on screen together until the last 20 minutes of the movie.) Avoid this.  2.25/10

One Response to “Couples Retreat (Billingsley, 2009)”

  1. Aww, that’s harsh. It’s not the greatest movie of all time by any means, but a 2.5? Wow. I’d have to give it a 5.5 to 6. I totally agree about the couples that hate one another being happy as larks at the end, but I thought the movie fit my low expectations well enough. That said, however, I probably wouldn’t have bought the DVD if I’d rented it first. It’s worth the $3 or $4 to rent; I’d have been seriously disappointed if I’d spent theater prices to see it.

Leave a Reply

