Rosy-Fingered Dawn: a Film on Terrence Malick (Barcaroli, Hintermann, Panichi, Villa, 2002)

Rosy-Fingered Dawn: a Film on Terrence Malick (Luciano Barcaroli, Carlo Hintermann, Gerardo Panichi, & Daniele Villa, 2002)

I didn’t really know what else to watch last night, so I figured I’d see this documentary on my favorite director that I’d had lying around for a very long time. As I expected, it’s decent, but nothing more. It’s really just a bunch of actors from Malick’s films talking about experiences they had while making his movies. There is very little about Malick as a person. A lot of the stories are interesting, but nothing I couldn’t have read. There are very little cinematic qualities to this film. Some of the transitional scenes are filmed nicely – very poetic in a Malick-lite tone. Some, though, don’t seem to fit at all. There are several scenes of random street preachers, and other eccentric characters. None of these matched the sense of calm and subtle spirituality you would find in a Malick film. Anyway, I found a lot of the information and stories worth my time, but this isn’t much of a movie.  6/10

Leave a Reply

