Aliens (Cameron, 1986)

Aliens (James Cameron, 1986)

This is a big step down from Alien. Where Alien succeeded in its simplicity, Aliens has a flawed need to be a grand epic. With every passing moment, a new problem arises, and just when you think things can’t get any worse, they do. It actually became quite comical towards the end as I waited for new conflicts to pop up over and over. I do have to say that I found the whole thing entertaining, and the scene towards the end where Ripley discovers the Queen alien and her nest was perhaps the best scene in either of the two films. (The editing, both visual and sound, is fantastic.) Other than that, this was almost entirely a popcorn movie in style, plot, and dialogue. (Could the Marines have been any more cliché?) I’m glad I saw this, but I doubt I’ll ever watch it again.  6.5/10

Leave a Reply

