Alice in Wonderland (Burton, 2010)

Alice in Wonderland (Tim Burton, 2010)

Say what you want about Tim Burton’s style, but I’ve always liked it. With each passing film, it is starting to get a bit more tired, but I sort of like the fairy tale, eccentric feel of most of his sets. (They key word here is sets.) Then came Alice in Wonderland. Why Burton abandoned his greatest strength for a CGI-fest is a question I have no answer to. The way Burton’s movies usually take me to another world while still dangling me in the real world was absent here. He would have been better off going full animation ala Corpse Bride or Nightmare Before Christmas.

Sadly, outside of the disappointing visual presentation, there really wasn’t much else to appreciate either. The story was too much (just a simple retelling of the original would have been fine), the humor missed its mark, and the characters were actually too tame. I’m actually having a hard time thinking of things I did like about this. I’m having trouble pinpointing positives, but it didn’t feel it was a complete trainwreck for whatever reason. It’s probably just my guilty pleasure for fantasy tugging at my heart.  5/10

4 Responses to “Alice in Wonderland (Burton, 2010)”

  1. I really liked the costumes in this movie. They still had the Tim Burton feel to them, even thought the rest of the movie severely lacked it.

  2. Kyle King Says:

    “Where are my fat boys? Bring me my fat boys!” I like Tweedle Dee and Tweedle Dum. They should’ve gotten more minutes.

  3. The Nightmare Before Christmas
    Director:
    Henry Selick
    Sorry, it just bugs me… nice blog

    • Hmm, yes I know. I didn’t claim Burton directed that. I was just using it as a comparison to how this film should have been handled. Besides, Burton was obviously still very, very heavily involved with NBC.

Leave a Reply

