The Bad Lieutenant: Port of Call – New Orleans (Herzog, 2009)

The Bad Lieutenant: Port of Call – New Orleans (Werner Herzog, 2009)

This is one of the most bizarre movies I’ve ever seen. Overall, I think I would have liked it a lot better if it didn’t just feel like Herzog making a big joke. I’m not really knocking the humor here. It’s a dark comedy for sure, and it’s really, really funny at times. But the film’s ending leaves the impression that Herzog is making fun as opposed to having fun. There are several things that work in this film. The aforementioned humor during the first 3/4 of the film is very good. Also, Nic Cage does a fantastic job making the character his. Everything from the way he moves to the way his voice changes throughout the movie really rings true. He even shares some tender moments with his girlfriend that are probably some of the best scenes of the film. So overall I found this enjoyable, at times fantastic, but too often ridiculous in a bad way.  7.5/10

2 Responses to “The Bad Lieutenant: Port of Call – New Orleans (Herzog, 2009)”

  1. This was one of the strangest movies I’ve ever seen. I still don’t really feel like I get it.

    • chrisfilm Says:

      Haha, yeah, I don’t think anyone will ever ‘get’ it. I think it’s just Herzog being Herzog. He’s just an odd duck like that. I got Ginger to see this by telling her it was like The Wire, but obviously, I had no idea if it was or not since I haven’t seen that.

      ‘His soul is still dancing.’

Leave a Reply

