The Hurt Locker (Bigelow, 2008)

The Hurt Locker (Kathryn Bigelow, 2008)

I won’t lie. I watched this movie to help bolster my 2009 end-of-the-year list. So I was rather disappointed when I found out it’s from 2008. It’s somewhat okay, because it was a decent/good movie. The only kinds of war movies I really like are the ones that have little focus on battles and combat, so this had that going for it. Its focus was definitely on the characters, especially Sgt. James’ external and internal battle with self-importance. His struggle with feeling involved was interesting to watch, and it doesn’t end with some grand event that leaves him fulfilled.

For a while it seemed the film was going to focus on Sgt. James’ downfall/breakdown as he struggled with finding his purpose and paranoia, but it never really follows that path consistently. It’s the inconsistencies of the second half of the film (including the brutal final scene), that hurt this film the most. Though even if I had liked the second half, this still isn’t really my thing overall. 6.75/10

4 Responses to “The Hurt Locker (Bigelow, 2008)”

  1. I was thinking you would have liked it a lot more than you did. My favorite scene was in the supermarket at the end, the sterile and peacefulness of American capitalism to the chaotic nature of Iraq. I also watched Moon and it was awesome, thanks for the recommendation!

    • chrisfilm Says:

      Yeah, that supermarket scene was great. If it would have ended there, it would have been a lot better. The whole Bruce Willis-esque ending was a bit much though.

    • chrisfilm Says:

      Oh yeah, FYI, we aren’t having an Oscar party this year, but we will be having a LOST season finale party, so you guys will be invited to that.

  2. […] same movie, but if I had to choose a preferred war movie from last year, I’d chose this over The Hurt Locker. With both films very obviously addressing the effects of war on soldiers and people surrounding […]

Leave a Reply

