The International (Tykwer, 2009)

The International (Tom Tykwer, 2009)

From what I’ve seen of Tom Tykwer, I’m not a huge fan. But I know him as a well-renowned director and I thought this might be a good action/thriller. For the most part, though, it was kind of average. I was impressed with the consistency of Clive Owen’s character. The end of the film was enough to make this watchable for me. Throughout the film, I felt he was definitely one of those people who was passionate about his cause, but not hot-headed enough to lose his mind. Luckily, Tykwer doesn’t sway and the character consistency is a plus.

The plot synopsis wasn’t one that really sounded appealing to me. And, as expected, I didn’t care for it. It was tired, cliché, and brought nothing new to the table. From a technical standpoint, this wasn’t great either, which is sad since this is the first movie I watched on blu-ray. I guess the Guggenheim shootout scene was impressive for what it was, but again that kind of stuff isn’t up my alley.  5.75/10

Leave a Reply

