A Serious Man (Coens, 2009)

A Serious Man (Joel & Ethan Coen, 2009)

I found this film more interesting than I did good. And I think I have decided I prefer what the Coen brothers do when they are dealing with a rural setting than with any other setting. Anyway, I think the Coens missed their mark with the comedy in this film. Much of it felt forced, and this would have been better served as a straight-up drama. Of course, the dramatic essence of the film was all over the place, and when focused it was completely depressing. Some of my favorite films are sad, but this was too much for me. The Coens do a good job of letting us know that any ounce of hope only exists in our dreams (and even those don’t end well). Talk about a hopeless outlook. I read the thoughts of someone who called this story the anti-Job, and that seems like an accurate statement. But that is one of the main reasons why I found the film more interesting than good.  6/10

4 Responses to “A Serious Man (Coens, 2009)”

  1. I had a really hard time with this one. In fact, I found it excruciating. I think the fact that I am not Jewish precluded me from understanding half of the references within the dialogue. But, as with any Coen brothers film, it was beautiful.

    • chrisfilm Says:

      I didn’t even think this one was aesthetically pleasing. I was going to give this a much lower rating until I read the comment about this being an anti-Job story which helped me relate to it a little, but this was really disappointing.

      I’m seeing The Road this weekend. If that one is disappointing too, I might give up on 2009. =)

      • Chris,

        I agree. The Coen brothers made this one very inaccessible to most audiences and, even if you know the Job connection while you are watching it, it’s still very lacking. I really couldn’t empathize with any of the characters which made it a long, boring sit in the dark. I normally like movies that examine people or are slices of life, but this is a slice of life I’d rather not see.

      • Brian, Thanks for reading and bravo on describing all the things that are wrong with this movie. Said it better than I did!

Leave a Reply

