Late Autumn (Ozu, 1960)

Late Autumn (Yasujiro Ozu, 1960)

Out of numerous Ozu films made, I have only seen five, and this was probably my least favorite. But since I haven’t seen many, and liked them all, that isn’t as much a criticism as it sounds. The main problem I had with this film is just that I found the content to be somewhat uninteresting. It’s likely a cultural thing, but movies about children’s moral dilemmas about whether to marry or take care of their widowed parent doesn’t seem to stand the test of time.

late autumn

But as with all of Ozu’s films, there is still a lot to appreciate. The acting is fantastic, the script often funny, and the technical approach is subtly good. Though, almost all of those features aren’t as good as in the other films I’ve seen. At times the film is poignant, but too often not.  7.25/10

2 Responses to “Late Autumn (Ozu, 1960)”

  1. You picked a great topic for this post and you wrote about it well. I have seen several other websites with comparable content but no 1 has done a better job than you on writing about it.

    • Well thank you for the high compliments! Since seeing this I’ve seen Claire Denis’ 35 Rhums which kind of tackles the same subject, but relates it to today’s society. It’s a great film and I definitely recommend it.

Leave a Reply

