L’avventura (Antonioni, 1960)

L’avventura (Michelangelo Antonioni, 1960)

I watched another movie this weekend that I did not like when I saw it years ago. Unlike Breathless, though, this one I liked a lot more the second time around. L’avventura features an extremely subtle, and almost difficult study of loss and grief. In fact, the first time through I didn’t even recognize it as that. The first half of the film follows a group of friends on a small cruise. As they dock at a group of small islands, one girl disappears. During the second half of the film, the girl’s best friend and boyfriend start a relationship. My first time seeing this I thought the shift in focus was poor storytelling. As I watched it this time through, I saw it was actually the characters way of dealing with their grief. The film still has its weaknesses – the transition from first half to second half is rushed, and the last 20 minutes is painfully dull, but still so much better than I originally thought.  7.5/10

avventura

Leave a Reply

