Breathless (Godard, 1960)

Breathless (Jean-Luc Godard, 1960)

I saw this film a few years back and didn’t really care for it. But that was before my movie tastes had fully molded into what they are today. So, I decided it was time for a re-watch. Really, the only thing I appreciate about this film that I missed the first time is the unique cinematography and editing. It definitely follows the French New Wave aesthetic style of fast cuts and lots of movement.

brethless

Unfortunately, from a character standpoint, this film was extremely uninteresting to me. I really just felt no connection to any person in this film. Story wise, it’s too spastic – part crime drama, part ‘love story’. Unfortunately, when I say love story, I just mean the main male character is trying to get the main female character to sleep with him the entire time. I have yet to find a Godard film that I really loved, so I’m starting to think his style just isn’t for me.  4.5/10

5 Responses to “Breathless (Godard, 1960)”

  1. Glad to see you in blog land :P. I’m not all that familiar with wordpress but it looks cool enough. I thought this movie was meh as well, surprised that I constantly see people throwing it on the favorites list. I liked it a little bit more than you, but I thought the characters were just uninteresting, but the plot intriguing.

    • Thanks for checking in Ryan! Glad I’m not the only one who doesn’t consider this a masterpiece.

      As far as the plot goes, I think it would have been better if Godard had gone full crime plot, or full whimsical love plot. The mix just seems a bit sloppy.

  2. Nice blog. Love the layout. Nice film choices. Breathless may be scattered in it’s approach to “story”, but it’s a wonderful introduction to the “new wave” style of the period. It’s also just an all around beautiful movie to look at.

Leave a Reply

