À propos de Nice (Vigo, 1930)

A propos de Nice (Jean Vigo, 1930)

Jean Vigo’s first film is a sort of travelogue of Nice. I’m not too familiar with these travelogues from the late 20s, early 30s, but from everything I hear, Vigo’s version is much different. This short film is more of a mockery of the city’s upper class. Truthfully, this film didn’t really interest me in that regard. Critiquing the bourgeoisie is never a subject I’ve been interested in film. With A propos de Nice, I experienced 20 minutes of fantastic images merged with an amazing score that put me in a sort of a relaxed trance. The closeups of the people’s faces, slow motion pans of the landmarks, and a beautiful cultural parade for a finale are really what bring this city to life for me. And that was enough to really enjoy this.  8.25/10

propos

Leave a Reply

